Jesus Saying ” I THIRST” On The Cross

Day 201 John 19:28, Psalm 22:14-16

This fifth saying on the Cross – “I THIRST” uttered by the Crucified Christ on the 9th hour on the Cross speaks volumes. Shortly saying this, Christ was given vinegar and said it was finished and gave up His spirit. Ponder the significance:

First, the PHYSICAL DEPRIVATION IS UNDERSTANDABLE as the Saviour had been crucified there for 6 hours.

Second, this is a PROPHETIC FULFILLMENT OF PSALM 22:14-15 – “I AM POURED OUT LIKE WATER, and all my bones are out of joint: my heart is like wax… MY STRENGTH IS DRIED UP LIKE A POTSHERD; AND MY TONGUE CLEAVETH TO MY JAWS; AND THOU HAST BROUGHT ME INTO THE DUST OF DEATH.

Third, this saying ‘I Thirst” is a PARADOX IN THAT THE FOUNT OF LIVING WATERS IS THIRSTING HERE BECAUSE OF OUR SINS.

Fourth, on a PERSONAL LEVEL, CHRIST THIRSTED ON THR CROSS SO THAT MEN WHO COME TO HIM WILL NEVER THIRST FOR SPIRITUAL SATISFACTION AGAIN.

Last, “I Thirst” suggests a PENCHANT FOR CHRIST TO SEE THE END OF HIS SAVING WORK AND LONGING FOR A RETURN TO THE FATHER especially when He knows “all things were now accomplished, that the Scriptures might be fulfilled.”

Leave a comment